Owl Slippers {crochet}

Anyone that knows me knows I have an obsession with owls. I just love them! So when I started crocheting slippers, I knew I had to find a way to make a cute pair of owl slippers.

You will want to start by checking out my original post on Crochet Slippers, where you will find the link for the free pattern. Also make sure you take a look at “Important things to note on the Mary Jane pattern and changes I made” at the end of that post.

Just like with the sock monkey slippers, I made these using a size 5 crochet hook and worsted weight yarn. My feet are a size 8 or 9 and these fit nicely. For smaller than a size 7 foot I recommend using a size 4.5 or 4 hook. You don’t have to use the colours I did, get creative!

1. Crochet the “toe” and “sole” portion in orange.
2. Change to brown for the “upper” portion.
3. Eyes (make 4 in white)
R 1: Ch 2, 6 sc in second chain from hook.
R 2: 2 sc in each sc around. (12 sts)
Slip stitch to finish off, leave long tail for sewing.
With black yarn, tie a couple of knots in the same spot and thread through the centre of eye.
4. Wings (make 4 in brown)
Starting at bottom of wing, ch 2.
R 1: Sc in second ch. Ch 1, turn. (1 sc)
R 2: 2 sc in first sc. Ch 1, turn. (2 sc)
R 3: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next sc. Ch 1, turn. ( 3 sc)
R 4: 2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sc. Ch 1, turn.(4 sc)
R 5:  2 sc in first sc, sc in next 3 sc. Ch 1. (5 sc)
Sc down the 2 “V” sides of the wing, increasing at the bottom of the “V” with an extra chain. Finish off with a slip stitch, leave long tail for sewing. (Sc-ing down the 2 sides gives it a finished edge and looks much nicer.)
5. Beak (make 2 in beige)
Make exactly the same as the wings, stopping at R 3.
6. Using blunt needle, sew on all pieces to make the owl. For the wings I only sewed along the top, leaving the bottom free for “flapping” 🙂 haha

These slippers are the most involved ones I have made to date. I really love them though. The most tedious part is sewing on all the pieces that make the owl. But it’s totally worth it. Have fun with it! Change up the colours. I definitely plan on making more. Happy crocheting friends!

~Made beautifully by Heather~

One thought on “Owl Slippers {crochet}

Leave a Reply

