Sweet potato squash

Heather and I went to a local farmers market last weekend and stocked up on some locally grown goodness. We stumbled upon some new and strange looking squash and inquired about what it was and go my amazement… Sweet potato squash is a thing. I bought one and decided to make it today and see what this fusion vegetable was all about.

Cut that bad boy right down the middle and scooped out all the goop and guts.

20120830-002737.jpg

Put some butter, salt and pepper in there and tossed it in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes. I didn’t cover it with foil, but I suppose I could have done that too. Or even put some brown sugar in there. I wasn’t sure of the taste so I opted not to add any extra sweetness.

20120830-002933.jpg

I forgot to take a picture of the final outcome because my eagerness to eat it overtook me remembering that I was gonna post about it for the Internet. However, I will describe it for you. The edges browned and it looked like all squash does when you cook it in its skin: delish. It doesn’t taste like sweet potato, but it was tasty all the same. Next time I might try it with the brown sugar and some foil.

See! When it comes to food, I know how to complete a project.

Leave a Reply

